Managing team members
Manage team members and their access in your organization.
The Team Members page lists all team members in the ElemBio Cloud organization with filters and buttons to navigate table pages. Team members can sign in through the organization-specific website or a connected Element Biosciences system.
Team member roles
A team member has one of the following roles: User or Administrator. Each role has different permissions, as defined in the following table:
| Feature | User Permissions | Administrator Permissions |
|---|---|---|
| Run Monitoring | View | View |
| Run Planning | Create, Delete, Edit, and View | Create, Delete, Edit, and View |
| Data Browsing | Download, Relaunch, and View | Download, Relaunch, and View |
| Integrations (Providers, Storage, and Compute) | Verify and View | Add, Delete, Edit, Manage Data Access, Set Storage Default, Verify, and View |
| Flows | Add, Delete, Edit, Launch, Verify, and View | Add, Delete, Edit, Launch, Verify, and View |
| Team Members | View | Invite, Remove, Update, and View |
Administrator management of team members
Administrators can manage team members in ElemBio Cloud, or through an identity provider with single sign-on.
If you are an administrator, only another administrator can update your role or delete your account.
Update a role
- On the Team Members page, locate the team member you want to edit.
- In the Actions column, select More, and then select Edit.
- When prompted, select User or Administrator.
- Select Save to change the role. The role updates immediately. The team member must log out and log in again to see the role change.
Send an invitation
- On the Team Members page, select Invite Team Member.
- Enter a valid email address for the new team member.
- Select a role for the team member: User or Administrator.
- Select Send Invite.
- The team member receives an invitation email and must accept it within 7 days.
- If the organization does not use SSO, ElemBio Cloud prompts the team member to set a password when they accept the invitation.
- If an invitation is lost or not accepted in time, an administrator can resend it.
View pending invitations
- On the Team Members page, select the Outstanding Invitations tab.
- Review the table of invited team members who have not accepted the invitation.
- Filter team members as needed.
- Navigate table pages as needed.
Resend an invitation
- On the Team Member page, select the Outstanding Invitations tab.
- In the Actions column, select More for the team member, and then select Resend Invite.
- When prompted, select Resend Invite.
Delete an invitation
- On the Team Members page, select the Outstanding Invitations tab.
- In the Actions column, select More for the team member, and then select Delete.
- When prompted, select Delete.
Remove a team member
- On the Team Members page, locate the team member you want to remove.
- In the Actions column, select More, and then select Delete.
- When prompted, enter the email address of the team member.
- Select Delete to immediately remove the team member.
Single sign-on
When you enable single sign-on (SSO), team members sign in to ElemBio Cloud without managing a separate login. ElemBio Cloud receives data from the SSO identity provider (IDP) to verify user identity and authenticate access.
To set up SSO with ElemBio Cloud, see the documentation for your IDP, or contact Element Technical Support.
SSO compatibility
Element can enable SSO for your organization using a compatible IDP, such as the following options:
- Active Directory
- Keycloak
- Okta
For information on IDP compatibility and connecting an SSO, contact Element Technical Support.
How SSO users become team members
After you set up an SSO connection, any SSO user can become a team member of your organization. An administrator can send an invitation, or a team member can self-register at the organization-specific ElemBio Cloud URL. SSO users become team members after they complete registration.
To restrict access to a select group of SSO users, apply a user group control in the SSO console. Only users in the group can become team members, and other users receive an error message when they attempt to log in.